2017-2018 Academic Calendar

Ammended by University Council, Sept. 21, 2016

*Note: Orientation dates listed are tentative
until confirmed by Undergraduate Admissions.

Fall Semester 2017

Based on 50 minute classes (MWF), 75 minute classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes + Exams
Orientation Aug. 7 Aug. 9 Monday Wednesday
Advisement Aug. 8 Aug. 10 Tuesday Thrusday
Registration Aug. 9 Aug. 11 Wednesday Friday
Classes Begin Aug. 10 Aug. 14 Thursday Monday
Drop / Add for undergraduate and
graduate level courses
Aug. 10 - 16
Aug. 14 – 18
Thursday - Wednesday
Monday - Friday
Holiday: Labor Day – No Classes Sept. 4 Monday
Midterm Oct. 3 Oct. 5 Tuesday Thursday
Withdrawal Deadline Oct. 17 Oct. 19 Tuesday Thursday
Fall Break Oct. 27 Friday
Last Day of Classes prior to
Thanksgiving Break
Nov. 17 Friday
Holidays: Thanksgiving Nov. 20 – 24 Monday - Friday
Classes Resume Nov. 27 Monday
Friday Class taught on Tuesday Dec. 5 Tuesday
Classes End Dec. 4 Dec. 5 Monday Tuesday
Reading Day Dec. 5 Dec. 6 Tuesday Wednesday
Final Exams Dec. 6 - 12
Dec. 7 - 13
Wednesday –Tuesday
Thursday – Wednesday
Commencement Dec. 15 Friday
Grades Due Dec. 18 Monday, 5 PM

 

Spring Semester 2018

Based on 50 minutes classes (MWF), 75 minutes classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes + Exams
Orientation / Advisement Jan. 2 Jan. 3
*Confirmed
Tuesday Wednesday
Registration Jan. 3 Wednesday
Classes Begin Jan. 4 Thursday
Drop / Add for undergraduate and
graduate level courses
Jan. 4 - 10 Thursday - Friday
Monday - Wednesday
Holiday: Martin Luther King Jr. Day Jan. 15 Monday
Midterm Feb. 26 Monday
Last Day of Classes prior to Spring Break Mar. 9 Friday
Spring Break Mar. 12 – 16 Monday – Friday
Classes Resume Mar. 19 Monday
Withdrawal Deadline Mar. 19 Monday
Classes End Apr. 25 Wednesday
Reading Day Apr. 26 Thursday
Final Exams Apr. 27
Apr. 30 - May 3
Friday
Monday - Thursday
Commencement May 4 Friday
Grades Due May 7 Monday, 12 PM

 

Summer 2018

May Session

Based on 150 minutes daily, 15 days of classes
Registration May 8 Tuesday
Classes Begin May 9 Wednesday
Drop / Add May 9 – 10 Wednesday - Thursday
Midterm May 18 Friday
Withdrawal Deadline May 18 Friday
Holiday: Memorial Day May 28 Monday
Classes End May 30 Wednesday
Final Exams May 31 Thursday
Grades Due June 4 Monday, 12 PM

Extended Summer Session

Based on 205 minutes per week for 11 weeks (2250 minutes for a 3 hour course).
Registration May 8 Tuesday
Classes Begin May 9 Wednesday
Drop / Add for undergraduate and
graduate level courses
May 9 - 11
May 14 - 15
Wednesday – Friday
Monday - Tuesday
Holiday: Memorial Day May 28 Monday
Midterm June 18 Monday
Withdrawal Deadline June 18 Monday
Holiday: 4th of July July 4 Wednesday
Classes End July 27 Friday
Final Exams July 30 - 31 Monday & Tuesday
Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday, 12 PM

Thru Term

Based on 60 minutes daily, 38 days of class
Orientation June 1 Friday
Advisement / Registration June 4 Monday
Classes Begin June 5 Tuesday
Drop / Add June 5 - 11 Tuesday - Monday
Holiday: 4th of July July 4 Wednesday
Midterm June 29 Friday
Withdrawal Deadline June 29 Friday
Classes End July 27 Friday
Final Exams July 30 - 31 Monday & Tuesday
Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday, 12 PM

Short Session I

Based on 120 minutes daily, 19 days of classes
Orientation June 1 Friday
Advisement / Registration June 4 Monday
Classes Begin June 5 Tuesday
Drop / Add June 5 – 6 Tuesday - Wednesday
Midterm June 18 Monday
Withdrawal Deadline June 18 Monday
Classes End June 29 Friday
Final Exams July 2 Monday
Grades Due July 9 Monday, 12 PM

Short Session II

Based on 120 minutes daily, 19 days of classes
Orientation / Advisement / Registration July 2 Monday
Classes Begin July 3 Tuesday
Drop / Add July 3 - 5 Tuesday - Thursday
Holiday: 4th of July July 4 Wednesday
Midterm July 17 Tuesday
Withdrawal Deadline July 17 Tuesday
Classes End July 30 Monday
Final Exams July 31 Tuesday
Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday, 12 PM