

University Council

Educational Affairs Committee 2020-2021

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences – Jason Peake Arts and Sciences – Samantha Joye- present

Jean Martin-Williams- present

Business - David Mustard- present

Annette Poulsen (chair)- present

Education - Laura Bierema- present

Engineering – Sudhagar Mani- present

Environment and Design – Rosanna Rivero- present

(also representing Public Health and Social Work)

Family and Consumer Sciences – Alex Anderson- present

Forestry and Natural Resources – Puneet Dwivedi- present

(also representing Ecology)

Journalism and Mass Communication – Shira Chess- present

Pharmacy – Ewan Cobran- present

(also representing Veterinary Medicine and Law)

Public and International Affairs – Daniel Hill- present

Provost- Jack Hu-substitute William Vencill- present

Undergraduate Student Representative – Ciera Thomas- present

Graduate/Professional Student Representative – Gerena Walker- present

Guests: Maggie Blanton

Julia Butler-Mays Courtney Cullen Nancy Ferguson Melissa Garber Phillip Griffeth Chase Hagood Naomi Norman Rahul Shrivastav William Vencill

The Educational Affairs Committee met on March 22, 2021, at 3:30 p.m. online via Zoom.

The minutes of the February 8, 2021, meeting were approved as distributed.

Chair Annette Poulsen reported that since the last EAC meeting, the Petitions Subcommittee reviewed 19 student appeals. Of those appeals, 15 were approved and 4 were denied.

First, the committee considered a follow-up presentation from Director of the Division of Academic Enhancement Chase Hagood concerning the *Connect and Complete: Persistence Framework* proposal. The proposal was presented to the committee as an information item at its February 8 meeting. Dr. Hagood addressed questions that the committee had provided at the last meeting as well as answered questions from committee members during discussion. Following discussion, a motion was made by David Mustard for a vote on the proposal. The motion was seconded by Jean Martin-Williams. A vote was called, and the committee unanimously approved the proposal, which will next be presented to the University Curriculum Committee for further consideration.

The committee revisited two action items, a proposal to revise Policy 4.06-5, Air Force ROTC Commitment and Summer Break and a proposal for a new Policy 4.06-6, University-sponsored activities, that were discussed at the February 8 meeting. The two proposals were re-drafted based on feedback at the February 8 meeting and brought forward for consideration. The revision to Policy 4.06-5 was first considered by the committee. During discussion, a motion for a vote on the proposal was made by David Mustard and seconded by Samantha Joye. A vote was called, and the proposal was unanimously approved by the committee. The proposal will next be presented to the University Curriculum Committee for further consideration. During discussion the proposal for a new Policy 4.06-6, a motion was made by Gerena Walker to create a subcommittee of the EAC to revise the wording of the proposal. The motion was seconded by Ciera Thomas. A vote was called, and the committee approved the creation of the subcommittee with 10 in favor and 4 abstentions.

The committee considered a proposal from the Office of the Registrar to change the number of credit hours for which a student can register without receiving an override. The proposal requested that the maximum number of hours for which undergraduate students may register without administrative approval be adjusted from 17 to 18. Following discussion, a motion was made by Jean Martin-Williams for a vote on the proposal. The motion was seconded by David Mustard. A vote was called, and the proposal was unanimously approved by the committee. The proposal will next appear before the University Curriculum Committee for further consideration.

The committee next reviewed for information a draft of a proposed academic calendar for the 2022-2023 academic year. Vice President Shrivastav was present to answer questions regarding the calendar.

The committee discussed as an information item a report from the 2020 Faculty Listening Tour. Courtney Cullen from the Office of Academic Honesty and Integrity was present to answer questions regarding the report.

During new business, the committee discussed the faculty governance process for the Graduate Student Association to follow to bring forward to the committee a proposal on grade forgiveness. Lastly, the committee unanimously approved Annette Poulsen to serve as chair of the EAC in the 2021-2022 academic year.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Annette Poulsen, Chair Educational Affairs Committee

cc: Provost S. Jack Hu Dr. Rahul Shrivastav