

**University Council** 

## Educational Affairs Committee 2020-2021

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences – Jason Peake- present
Arts and Sciences – Samantha Joye- present
Jean Martin-Williams- present
Business – David Mustard- present
Annette Poulsen (chair)- present
Education – Laura Bierema
Engineering – Sudhagar Mani- present
Environment and Design – Rosanna Rivero- present
(also representing Public Health and Social Work)
Family and Consumer Sciences – Alex Anderson- present
Forestry and Natural Resources – Puneet Dwivedi
(also representing Ecology)
Journalism and Mass Communication – Shira Chess- present
Pharmacy – Ewan Cobran
(also representing Veterinary Medicine and Law)
Public and International Affairs – Daniel Hill- present
Provost- Jack Hu-substitute William Vencill- present
Undergraduate Student Representative – Ciera Thomas- present
Graduate/Professional Student Representative – Gerena Walker
Guests: Vincent Belcastro

Maggie Blanton Julia Butler-Mays Courtney Cullen Nancy Ferguson Melissa Garber Phillip Griffeth Chase Hagood John Maerz Naomi Norman Rahul Shrivastav

The Educational Affairs Committee met on February 8, 2021, at 3:30 p.m. online via Zoom.

The minutes of the October 5, 2020, meeting were approved as distributed.

Chair Annette Poulsen reported that since the last EAC meeting, the Petitions Subcommittee has reviewed 48 student appeals. Of those appeals, 39 were approved, 8 were denied, and 1 was deferred.

The committee discussed two action items, a proposal to revise Policy 4.06-5, Air Force ROTC Commitment and Summer Break and a proposal for a new Policy 4.06-6, University-sponsored activities. The two proposals had appeared before the committee during the previous academic year and had been forwarded to the University Curriculum Committee for input. University Curriculum Committee Chair John Maerz was in attendance to provide information and feedback on the two proposals on behalf of the Curriculum Committee. During discussion, a motion was made by Jean Martin-Williams to withdraw both proposals from the agenda and rewrite them based on received feedback. The motion was seconded by David Mustard. The committee then unanimously approved to withdraw both items and rewrite them. Dr. Poulsen indicated she would initiate the rewriting process.

The committee revisited the subject of the Daily Class Schedule for a discussion on recommendations for the Daily Class Schedule going forward. The committee discussed a previous SGA proposal that proposed increasing the time between classes to 20 minutes for classes between 9:55 a.m. and 2:35 pm on a Monday-Wednesday-Friday schedule and 10:45 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. on a Tuesday-Thursday schedule. The committee also discussed the changes made to the Daily Class Schedule during fall 2020 and spring 2021 that changed the time between classes from 15 minutes to 20 minutes. Ciera Thomas provided a survey to the committee that offered student opinions on this change to the Daily Class Schedule. Following discussion, a motion was made by Gerena Walker for the EAC to vote supporting the continuation of 20 minutes between classes. The motion was seconded by Ciera Thomas. The committee unanimously approved the motion.

Director of the Division of Academic Enhancement Chase Hagood presented to the committee a proposal entitled *Connect and Complete: Persistence Framework* as an information item. Following the presentation, committee members asked questions regarding the proposal. The committee will be revisiting this proposal for a possible vote at its March 22, 2021, meeting.

Vincent Belcastro and Ciera Thomas presented as an information item a resolution from SGA regarding the implementation of an institutional course evaluation website. The committee discussed the resolution at length. Vice President Shrivastav stated that such a website as outlined in the resolution is not possible at UGA, but that the information that would be contained in the website is already available in the Data Warehouse. Associate Vice President Vencill suggested the SGA reach out to Paul Klute in the Office of Institutional Research.

Lastly, Dr. Poulsen offered President Morehead's response to the resolution submitted by the EAC to the Executive Committee and the University Council in the fall regarding faculty role in educational affairs and policies.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Annette Poulsen, Chair Educational Affairs Committee

cc: Provost S. Jack Hu Dr. Rahul Shrivastav