## UNIVERSITY CURRICULUM COMMITTEE - 2003-2004

Dr. William K. Vencill, Chair

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences - Dr. T. Dean Pringle

Arts and Sciences - Dr. Mary A. Leglar (Arts)

Dr. J. Scott Shaw (Sciences)

Business - Dr. Robert D. Gatewood, absent

Education - Dr. Stephen F. Olejnik

Environment and Design - Mr. Scott S. Weinberg

Family and Consumer Sciences - Dr. Jan M. Hathcote

Forest Resources - Dr. Bruce C. Bongarten

Journalism and Mass Communication - Dr. William E. Lee

Law -Mr. Larry E. Blount, absent

Pharmacy - Dr. Janet McCombs

Public and International Affairs - Dr. Arnold P. Fleischmann

Social Work - Dr. Paul W. Ammons

Veterinary Medicine - Dr. Sheila W. Allen, substituting: Dr. P. Tom Purinton

Graduate School - Dr. Mary M. Frasier, absent

Undergraduate Student Representative – Heather Sheppard

Graduate Student Representative – Jeffrey Lake

Guests: Dr. Arnett Mace Dr. Tim Foutz
Dr. Del Dunn Ms. Bala Sarasvati
Dr. Parker Luchte Dr. Bill Barstow

Dr. Nelson Hilton Dr. Hugh Ruppersburg

Dr. Pat Miller Dr. Mike Padilla Dr. Ted Shifrin Dr. Don Evans

Dr. Roxanne Eberle

The University Curriculum Committee met on August 22, 2003, at 3:00 p.m. in the Peabody Board Room, Administration Building. Minutes of March 28, 2003, meeting were approved.

The committee approved the following items which were forwarded to the Executive Committee of University Council for consideration:

Converting Major to Different Degree:

From: Dance (B.S.Ed.)

To: Dance (A.B.)

Proposal for a Major in Dance under the B.F.A.

Proposal for Dual Degrees:

A.B. in English and B.S.Ed. in English Education

B.S. in Mathematics and B.S.Ed. in Mathematics Education

B.S. in Biology and B.S.Ed. in Science Education

A.B. in History and B.S.Ed. in Social Science Education

Proposal for a British and Irish Studies Program and

an Undergraduate Interdisciplinary Certificate Program in British and Irish Studies

Proposal for an Institute for Women's Studies

UCC Minutes Page 2 August 22, 2003

Proposal for a Department Name Change and Name Change of Majors

From: Department of Medical Microbiology and Parasitology

To: Department of Infectious Diseases

From: Medical Microbiology (M.S.)

Parasitology (M.S.)

To: Infectious Diseases (M.S.)

From: Medical Microbiology (Ph.D.)

Parasitology (Ph.D.)

To: Infectious Diseases (Ph.D.)

Proposal for a Dual Degree Agreement with UGA and State University of West Georgia

Proposal for a Major Name Change

From: Plant Protection and Pest Management

To: Plant Health Science

The committee approved a request for a new prefix: WIPP - Writing Intensive Program Pedagogy

The committee approved a recommendation from the General Education Subcommittee to eliminate the entrance requirement of Area F for undergraduate majors. Information concerning this policy will be distributed to deans, directors, and department heads.

The committee elected the following subcommittee chairs for the 2003-2004 year:

Physical Sciences and Mathematics: Dr. J. Scott Shaw

Biological Sciences: Dr. Janet McCombs Social Sciences: Dr. Arnold P. Fleischmann Humanities and Fine Arts: Dr. Jan M. Hathcote Other Professional Courses: Dr. Paul W. Ammons

The committee discussed how the agenda items will be distributed. Complete proposals will appear on the web, and proposals will also be mailed to committee members.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

William K. Vencill, Chair University Curriculum Committee

cc: Dr. Arnett C. Mace, Jr. Dr. Delmer D. Dunn