## UNIVERSITY CURRICULUM COMMITTEE - 2002-2003

Dr. William K. Vencill, Chair

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences - Dr. Steven C. Turner

Arts and Sciences - Dr. Mary A. Leglar (Arts)

Dr. J. Scott Shaw (Sciences)

Business - Dr. Robert D. Gatewood, absent

Education - Dr. Brian A. Glaser

Environment and Design - Mr. Scott S. Weinberg, absent

Family and Consumer Sciences - Dr. Jan M. Hathcote

Forest Resources - Dr. Bruce C. Bongarten

Journalism and Mass Communication - Dr. Ron Lane

Law -Mr. Larry E. Blount, absent

Pharmacy - Dr. Janet McCombs

Public and International Affairs - Dr. Arnold P. Fleischmann

Social Work - Dr. Paul W. Ammons, absent

Veterinary Medicine - Dr. Sheila W. Allen

Graduate School - Dr. Mary M. Frasier, absent

Student Representative - Ms. Dena Levitz

Guests: Dr. Josef Broder Dr. Tom Holland

Dr. Mark Compton
Dr. Michael Lacy
Dr. Stuart Feldman
Dr. James Fletcher
Dr. Phillip Williams

Dr. Maureen Grasso

The University Curriculum Committee met on October 25, 2002, at 3:00 p.m. in 105 Old College. Minutes of the September 20, 2002, meeting were approved.

The committee approved the following items which were forwarded to the Executive Committee of University Council for consideration:

Proposal for Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) Degree

Proposal for a Graduate Interdisciplinary Certificate Program in Research Administration

Proposal for a Major in Avian Biology (B.S.A.)

Proposal for a Minor in Environmental Health Science

The committee approved a request from the Graduate School to add two graduate level courses, 7005 and 9005 under each prefix. The courses will only be added with approval of the department.

The committee approved a request from the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences for the following prefixes: Applied Technology (APTC) and Biotechnology (BTEC).

The committee voted not to endorse a proposal from the Student Government Association for an Online Course Description Bank.

The committee approved a request to revise the Course Syllabus Policy. The revised proposal will be sent to the Executive Committee of Council for consideration.

The meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

William K. Vencill, Chair University Curriculum Committee

cc: Dr. Arnett C. Mace, Jr.

Dr. Delmer D. Dunn

Dr. James E. Fletcher