## <u>UNIVERSITY CURRICULUM COMMITTEE - 2007-2008</u>

Mr. David E. Shipley, Chair

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences - Dr. Timothy L. Foutz

Arts and Sciences - Dr. Charles L. Platter (Arts)

Dr. Rodney Mauricio (Sciences)

Business - Dr. Stephen P. Baginski, absent

Ecology – Dr. James W. Porter

Education - Dr. Todd D. Dinkelman

Environment and Design - Mr. Scott S. Weinberg

Family and Consumer Sciences - Dr. Jan M. Hathcote

Forestry and Natural Resources - Dr. Ronald L. Hendrick

Journalism and Mass Communication - Dr. Wendy A. Macias

Law – no representative

Pharmacy - Dr. Keith N. Herist

Public and International Affairs - Dr. Jeffrey D. Berejikian, absent

Public Health – Dr. Phaedra S. Corso

Social Work - Dr. Patricia M. Reeves

Veterinary Medicine - Dr. Paige Carmichael

Graduate School - Dr. Malcolm R. Adams

Undergraduate Student Representative - Ms. Amrita Veliyath

Graduate Student Representative – Mr. Chris Johnson, absent

Guests: Dr. Linda Harklau Dr. William Vencill

The University Curriculum Committee met on August 24, 2007, at 3:00 p.m. in the Peabody Board Room. Minutes of the April 2, 2007, meeting were approved.

The committee approved the following proposals which were forwarded to the Executive Committee of University Council for consideration:

Proposal for a MAT in Teaching of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
Proposal to offer the Master of Plant Protection and Pest Management (MPPPM)
on the Tifton campus

Proposal to deactivate the minor in Child and Family Development

Proposal to deactivate the major in Landscape and Grounds Management (B.S.A.)

The committee discussed the proposal to deactivate the major in Landscape and Grounds Management under the B.S.A. There was concern that paperwork provided was not sufficient to vote on the proposal, and a motion was made to table the proposal. The motion was denied. After further discussion, the committee voted to approve the proposal, and the proposal was submitted to the Executive Committee for consideration.

The committee approved a request for a new prefix: HPAM, Health Policy and Management.

UCC Minutes Page 2 August 24, 2007

The committee elected the following subcommittee chairs for the 2007-2008 academic year:

Physical Sciences and Mathematics – Dr. Timothy L. Foutz

Biological Sciences – Dr. Rodney Mauricio

Social Sciences – Dr. Jan M. Hathcote

Humanities and Fine Arts – Dr. Todd D. Dinkelman

Other Professional Courses – Dr. Wendy A. Macias

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David E. Shipley, Chair

University Curriculum Committee

cc: Dr. Arnett C. Mace, Jr.

Professor Jere W. Morehead