## MINUTES EDUCATIONAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE March 26, 2007

Members Present: William Vencill (Chair), James Anderson, Ann Crowther, Dan DerVartanian, Karen Leonas, Denise Mewborn, Kathryn Bowers

Guests: Jere Morehead (VP for Instruction), Bob Boehmer (Vice Provost), Rebecca Macon, (Registrar), Kristen Coulter (Red & Black), Conner McCarthy (SGA), Debbie Bell and Brian Freese (Office of the VP for Instruction)

Dr. William Vencill called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m. He thanked the Fall Break Task Force for their work and announced that the 2008-2009 Academic Calendar passed without comment at the March meeting of the University Council. The Subcommittee on course withdrawals will meet on March 27.

On behalf of the Academic Honesty Subcommittee, Denise Mewborn presented the proposal for revisions to the University's academic honesty policy. The major revision includes a new process for dealing with students who violate the policy a second time. A Multiple Violations Review Board will be in charge of assigning the consequence for the repeated academically dishonest behavior. The proposal passed and will be forwarded to the Executive Committee for placement on the University Council's April 24, 2007 agenda.

The minutes of the February 19, 2007 Educational Affairs Committee were passed.

Finally, Dr. Mewborn was elected as the chair for the 2007-2008 Educational Affairs Committee.

The final meeting of the 2006-2007 academic year adjourned at approximately 4:10 p.m.