MINUTES EDUCATIONAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE January 8, 2007

Members Present: James Anderson, Ann Crowther, Dan DerVartanian, Laurie Fowler, Loch Johnson, Karen Leonas, Sarajane Love, Denise Mewborn, Kathryn Bowers Guests: Arnett Mace (Provost), Rebecca Macon, (Registrar) Rebecca Quigley (Athens Banner Herald), Sarah Pauff (Red & Black), Debbie Bell Office of the VP for Instruction)

Dr. William Vencill called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Provost Mace stated he looks forward to the report of the Subcommittee reviewing the University's academic honesty policy related to students who violate the policy a second time. He also asked the members to continue their discussion of issues related to students who have histories of excessive course withdrawals. Dr. Vencill explained that the Student Affairs Committee will be discussing this same matter and suggested that a subcommittee of EAC members might work with a subcommittee of Student Affairs committee members to explore possible solutions. Dr. Vencill, Dr. Crowther, Ms. Bowers, and Ms. Macon volunteered to serve.

The November 20, 2006 minutes were approved. Debbie Bell reported that the Academic Honesty Subcommittee has met two times and hopes to have a proposal to the Educational Affairs Committee at the February meeting, but no later than the March meeting.

Dr. Vencill asked the members to look at suggestions for a revision in the Educational Affairs Committee make-up as defined by the University's Statutes and Bylaws. Because a great deal of the work of EAC members is related to undergraduate student appeals, it would be reasonable to expect EAC membership to reflect a minority of representation from faculty from professional schools. The members voted to approve the following suggested new wording and to forward this information to the University Council's Statutes and Bylaws Committee:

SUGGESTED NEW WORDING

Faculty with academic rank: Eleven voting members shall be elected from and by the elected members of the University Council. The distribution of representation among the schools and colleges shall be reexamined every three years taking the proportion of undergraduate enrollment into consideration. Currently, the representation shall be as follows:

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences – 3 members

Terry College of Business – 1 member

College of Education – 1 member

College of Family and Consumer Sciences – 1 member

Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication – 1 member

School of Public and International Affairs -- 1 member

College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and Warnell School of Forest and Natural Resources – 1 member

School of Ecology, College of Environment and Design, School of Public Health, and School of Social Work – 1 member

College of Pharmacy, College of Veterinary Medicine, and School of Law – 1 member

Faculty shall serve three-year terms, even if their term of office on the University Council expires prior to the expiration of their term of service on this committee.

Students: One undergraduate student and one graduate/professional student shall be elected as Committee members from and by the student members of the University Council. These students shall serve a one-year term as voting members.

Administration: The Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, or an appointed representative, shall be a voting member. Educational Affairs Committee Chair: The Chair of the Educational Affairs Committee shall be elected at the last meeting of each year from among the faculty members on the Committee.

Under new business, the members discussed holding a forum with officials from the Athletic Association about the pros and cons of changing the GA/FL football game to a home-home game instead of holding the game in Jacksonville, discussed a letter from the faculty of Advertising and Public Relations expressing concern about a decision made by the Petitions Subcommittee, and the problems related to faculty members not reporting grades in a timely manner.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:25 p.m. The next meeting of the Educational Affairs Committee is scheduled for 3:30 p.m., February 19 in room 143 of the Tate Center.