Academic Calendar 2006-2007

Approved by University Council April 21, 2005

The first day of classes for the fall semester normally begins on a Thursday. This results in Finals beginning on a Monday and proceeding through Friday and then Commencement on Saturday. In 2006, the Saturday that would normally be Commencement day is Hanukkah. Since it is institutional practice to make every reasonable effort to allow members of the University community to observe their religious holidays, this schedule has been adjusted to hold Commencement on Friday, December 15. In order to have the required number of class days, the schedule indicates that the first day of classes will be on Wednesday, August 16. In order to provide an equal number of class meetings for classes which may be scheduled for Thursday only or Friday only, it is then necessary to operate a Friday class schedule on Wednesday, December 6, and a Thursday class schedule on Tuesday, December 5.

 

Fall Semester 2006*

Based on 50 minute classes (MWF), 75 minute classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes, 75 days of classes

Orientation/Advising Aug. 14 Monday
Advisement Aug. 14 Monday
Late Registration Aug. 15 Tuesday
Classes Begin Aug. 16 Wednesday
Drop/Add for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Aug. 16 – Aug. 21 Wednesday – Monday
Drop/Add for graduate level courses (6000 – 9999) Aug. 16 – Aug. 23 Wednesday - Wednesday
Holiday(Labor Day) Sept. 4 Monday
Midterm Oct. 4 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline Oct. 9 Monday
Fall Break Oct. 26 – 27 Thursday – Friday
Holiday (Thanksgiving) Nov. 22 – 24 Wednesday – Friday
Classes Resume Nov. 27 Monday
Classes End Dec. 6 Wednesday
Reading Day Dec. 7 Thursday
Final Exams Dec. 8, 11 - 14 Friday, Monday - Thursday
Commencement Dec. 15 Friday
Grades Due Dec. 18 Monday

*Note: For the Fall Semester 2006, the University will operate a Friday class schedule on Wednesday, Dec. 6 and a Thursday class schedule on Tuesday, Dec. 5. This is done to equalize the class minutes between MWF and TTH classes and to provide an equal number of class meetings for courses which may meet only once per week.



Spring Semester 2007

Based on 50 minutes classes (MWF), 75 minutes classes (TTH), 15 weeks of classes, 75 days of classes

Orientation Jan. 3 Wednesday
Advisement Jan. 4 Thursday
Late Registration Jan. 5 Friday
Classes Begin Jan. 8 Monday
Drop/Add for undergraduate level courses (1000 – 5999) Jan. 8 – Jan. 11 Monday – Thursday
Drop/Add for graduate level courses (6000 – 9999) Jan. 8 – Jan. 16 Monday – following Tuesday
Holiday (MLK Jr. Day) Jan. 15 Monday
Midterm Feb. 26 Monday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline March 1 Thursday
Last Day of Classes (prior to spring break) March 9 Friday
Spring Break March 12 – 16 Monday – Friday
Classes Resume March 19 Monday
Honors Day Program* April 25, 2pm Wednesday
Classes End April 30 Monday
Reading Day May 1 Tuesday
Final Exams May 2,3,4,7,8 Wed – Fri, Mon, Tues
Commencement May 12 Saturday
Grades Due May 14 Monday

* Honors Day Program: Undergraduate classes scheduled for 6th, 7th, and 8th periods (1:25 - 4:25pm) will be dismissed so students can attend the program.


Summer Semester 2007

 

May Session:

Based on 150 minutes daily, 15 days of classes

Late Registration May 14 Monday
Classes Begin May 15 Tuesday
Drop/Add for Undergraduate-level courses (1000 – 5999) May 15 Tuesday
Drop/Add for Graduate-level courses (6000 – 9999) May 15 Tuesday
Midterm May 24 Thursday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline May 24 Thursday
Memorial Day: Classes will meet* May 28 Monday
Classes End June 4 Monday
Final Exams June 5 Tuesday
Grades Due June 11 Monday
Commencement Aug. 4 Saturday

*The University will not observe Memorial Day as a holiday this year in order to observe Christmas Eve, December 24.

 

Extended Summer Session:

Based on 205 minutes per week for 11 weeks (2250 minutes for a 3 hour course).

Late Registration May 14 Monday
Classes Begin May 15 Tuesday
Drop/Add for Undergraduate-level courses (1000 – 5999) May 15 – 18 Tuesday – Friday
Drop/Add for Graduate-level courses (6000 – 9999) May 15 – 22 Tuesday – following Tuesday
Memorial Day: Classes will meet* May 28 Monday
Midterm June 20 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline June 22 Friday
Holiday (4th of July July 4 Wednesday
Classes End July 31 Tuesday
Final Exams Aug. 1 – Aug. 3 Wednesday – Friday
Commencement Aug. 4 Saturday
Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday

*The University will not observe Memorial Day as a holiday this year in order to observe Christmas Eve, December 24.

 

Thru Term:

Based on 60 minutes daily, 38 days of class

Orientation June 4 Monday
Advisement June 5 Tuesday
Late Registration June 6 Wednesday
Classes Begin June 7 Thursday
Drop/Add June 7 – 11 Thursday – Monday
Midterm July 3 Thursday
Holiday (4th of July) July 4 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline July 6 Friday
Classes End July 31 Tuesday
Final Exams Aug. 1 – Aug. 3 Wednesday – Friday
Commencement Aug. 4 Saturday
Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday

 

Short Session I:

Based on 120 minutes daily, 19 days of classes

Orientation June 4 Monday
Advisement June 5 Tuesday
Late Registration June 6 Wednesday
Classes Begin June 7 Thursday
Drop/Add June 7 – 8 Thursday – Friday
Midterm June 20 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline June 20 Wednesday
Classes End July 3 Tuesday
Holiday (4th of July) July 4 Wednesday
Final Exams July 5 Thursday
Grade Due July 9 Monday
Commencement Aug. 4 Saturday

 

Short Session II:

Based on 120 minutes daily, 18 days of classes

Late Registration July 5 Thursday
Classes Begin July 6 Friday
Drop/Add July 6 – 9 Friday – Monday
Midterm July 18 Wednesday
Midpoint Withdrawal Deadline July 18 Wednesday
Classes End July 31 Tuesday
Final Exams Aug. 1 Wednesday
Commencement Aug. 4 Saturday
Grades Due Aug. 6 Monday